Bridge St Garage, Sydney CBD

Latin American restaurants seem to be popping up all over the place lately, and after checking out the menu at Argentine-born chef Oscar Gorosito’s Bridge St Garage, I was keen to visit. As I only managed to get there during a workday lunch, I wasn’t able to sample as much of the menu as I would like, but the food I tried was impressive enough for me to plan another visit. After much deliberation, I eventually went for the soft shell crab salad which is probably one of the most appealing salads I’ve ever seen.

Soft Shell Crab Salad - Delicate soft shell crab on a bed of mixed leaves, capsicum, BBQ corn and fresh lime wedges

Soft Shell Crab Salad – Delicate soft shell crab on a bed of mixed leaves, capsicum, BBQ corn and fresh lime wedges

A huge mound of mixed green leaves and red cabbage, tossed with bright yellow corn kernels and strips of red capsicum was topped with several pieces of fried soft shell crab to make one gorgeous-looking salad. The taste was pretty great too, with the tangy dressing working well with the sweet bursts of corn and capsicum and complementing the crisp soft shell crab that was perfectly fried in a light batter. This was a really substantial salad – I didn’t manage to finish it and I was still quite full. I did not particularly like the bitterness of the red cabbage, but that’s personal preference.

New York-Cut Steak - Tender 300g grass-fed striploin steak with hand-cut chips, beer-battered onion rings and a coleslaw salad.

New York-Cut Steak – Tender 300g grass-fed striploin steak with hand-cut chips, beer-battered onion rings and a coleslaw salad

My boyfriend went for the steak, which he really enjoyed despite finding it slightly salty. However, he did mention that the salt did enhance the taste and gave the steak a different flavour. I managed to steal a couple of bites and I loved the strong meaty flavour of the steak.

TL;DR:

  • Great, bold flavours, lovely presentation and beautifully cooked food made for a memorable meal. I had been eyeing off a number of dishes on the menu, and I’ll definitely be back to try them soon!

Bridge St Garage
17-19 Bridge Street
Sydney NSW 2000
T: (02) 9251 9392
W: Bridge St Garage

Bridge Street Garage Bar & Diner on Urbanspoon

5 thoughts on “Bridge St Garage, Sydney CBD

Leave a Reply

