Delicado Foods and Wines, McMahons Point

Forgive me if this review is slightly lacking in detail; I was somewhat distracted as my wonderful boyfriend proposed to me only an hour before I sat down to this meal! We came across Delicado by accident, really. After the proposal (I said yes!), my now fiance suggested we go out somewhere to celebrate and I couldn’t think of anywhere to go, so we decided to drive to Milsons Point and pick a place there. In my flustered state, I missed the turnoff and we ended up in McMahons Point instead, which worked out quite well as I spotted Delicado Food and Wines driving down Blues Point Road. We begin with some deliciously moreish strips of lightly spiced pork crackling, which are the perfect bar snack.

Penny’s Pork crackling, mix of spicy and mild

Penny’s Pork crackling, mix of spicy and mild

These are followed up by jamon, leek and manchego croquettes which were crisp on the outside, cheesy on the inside and full of jamon bits.

Jamon, Leek + Manchego Croquettas, Romesco, crunchy pickles

Jamon, Leek + Manchego Croquettas, Romesco, crunchy pickles

I liked the freshness of the prawn tostadas – the light and tender prawn chunks were complemented by the rich avocado and crunchy corn chips.

Prawn Tostada, avocado, chipotle salsa, corn chips

Prawn Tostada, avocado, chipotle salsa, corn chips

The seared scallops were perfectly cooked and worked well with the savoury blood sausage and smooth cauliflower cream.

Seared Scallops, grilled morcilla, cauliflower cream

Seared Scallops, grilled morcilla, cauliflower cream

We had the crispy squid sharing plate and were extremely impressed by the size of the serving. Even though we chose the smaller size, we were presented with a mountain of tender squid tendrils well seasoned with paprika salt, which we weren’t actually able to finish.

Crispy Squid, alioli, lemon cheek, crispy fried parsley + smoked paprika salt

Crispy Squid, alioli, lemon cheek, crispy fried parsley + smoked paprika salt

From the start I had my eye on the peanut butter pudding and was rewarded when I cracked open the top of the pudding to reveal the rich, gooey, melted peanut butter filling. The light vanilla bean cream was definitely a welcome addition cutting through the incredibly intense peanut butter, which was a bit too much for me in the end!

Warm Peanut Butter Pudding, honeycomb praline, vanilla bean cream

Warm Peanut Butter Pudding, honeycomb praline, vanilla bean cream

Of course we also had to try the churros, which were lovely and crisp on the outside and dusted with cinnamon sugar. I loved the generous quenelle of dulce de leche; the dark chocolate was slightly too bitter for me.

Churros con Chocolate, dulce de leche

Churros con Chocolate, dulce de leche

TL;DR:

  • Great range of delicious tapas and sharing plates – will definitely be back with a bigger group next time so I can try more dishes!

Delicado Foods and Wines
134 Blues Point Road
McMahons Point NSW 2060
T: (02) 9955 9399
W: Delicado

Delicado on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Delicado Foods and Wines, McMahons Point

Leave a Reply

